Skip to content

Week #12 (2023): Rainy Day

June 10, 2023

Write a story about a rainy day

Image Credit: Markus Spiske via pexels.com

All the neighborhood kids were outside in bright plastic galoshes and rain coats. Not a one had an umbrella. Too restrictive. There were shouts of glee and surprise as one would stomp in a puddle to purposely spray the rest. It wasn’t a dark day, but there was a steady rain, a steady supply of entertainment. They played tag, slipping in the wet grass as they tried to evade whoever was “it”. They tried to construct a slip-n-slide out of some garbage bags repurposed from a neighbors’ garage. I laughed aloud as each child in turn ended up face first in the grass at the end of the garbage chute. It was endless fun provided by nature and I watched, my attention rapt.

A girl I knew from school met my eyes through the window. She stared at me staring at her. A minute later she was knocking at the door. My mother answered it as I sat trapped by the window.

“Can Kayla come out and play with us?” the girl asked my mother.

“I’m so sorry, but it’s not good for her wheelchair to be out in the rain,” my mother replied softly. I wondered if she didn’t want me hearing her dash my dreams.

My mother didn’t close the door immediately and I imagined the two of them staring at each other, at a loss of what to do next, at what my fate would be.

Finally the girl spoke, “Well if Kayla can’t come outside, can we come in?”

My mother must have been surprised because she stuttered as she told the girl, “Of course you all can come inside. I’ll just grab some towels for everyone to dry off.” My mother rushed past me, but I caught the wide smile on her face. It mirrored my own.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Yael Kisel permalink
    June 11, 2023 4:09 pm

    This story is sooo lovely!! What a beautiful vignette out of such a simple prompt ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a comment